我们的产业

出自我们的历史

“ 我要把我的教会建造在这磐石上。。。”
马太福音 16:18 

 

1963 年 12月

我们的创会长老

新加坡教会是由已故吴有庆弟兄、已故郑开濠弟兄及已故黄仁山弟兄所创立。1963年,新加坡及马来西亚在圣灵极大的运行下,许多的基督徒,包括我们的三位创会长老领受了圣灵的洗。于是在1963年12月成立了新加坡教会,主要是为了要牧养当时刚被圣灵充满的基督徒,以及满足他们对神话语的渴慕及对圣灵更深的认识。

1963 - 1973

拓荒时期

我们最初的聚会地点是在8号实乞纳坪的一个帆布屋檐下。随着信徒人数的增长,我们急需一个新的聚会场所,就转移到当时在索菲娅山一所即将被拆迁的旧平房开始聚会。而在这个时候,因着受英文教育的会友人数的增长,致使我们聚会的语言转为英语及华语。

1965年,有位会友得获知一间受管制的战前大楼,其空置的顶层开放出租的消息。我们与业主协商成功之后,便搬迁至 145马林百列路。

1974 - 1984

教会的建立

随着教会人数的增长,更多空间的需求也随之变得紧迫。1977年,首席租户要求我们成为145马林百列路的大房东,条件是要我们继续经营以“东岭”命名的学校。由此,1978年“东岭圣经学院”应运而生。

之后我们也在1979年拓展了新加坡教会马里士他,于1981年开拓了新加坡教会武吉知马以及1987年的新加坡教会兀兰。除了开拓教会以外,我们也在1977年差派了我们的首个植堂宣教士。

1985 - 1995

搬迁至永久地点

1980年后期,教会会友人数已增长至大约1,000人。我们的领袖开始向145号马林百列路的业主提出购买此产业的要求。1987年,业主最终同意将永久业权出售给我们。感谢赞美主!

1989年,旧建筑被拆除后便开始了新建筑的施工。在这段期间,我们的聚会地点则暂时迁移到国宾加东戏院和41号坤成路。新建筑最终于1992年完工。

为了更好地服务我们的社区,我们与其他三间教会和机构于1991年携手创立了圣路加医院。东岭学童中心也于1995年成立。

1996 - 2006

成长与扩张

另一个新的植堂,新加坡教会丰收于1996年成立。我们也在社区服务事工中有更进一步的尝试,于2000年创立了东岭乐龄中心(之后成为东岭社区服务)。

在进驻145号马林百列路超过20多年之后,我们预见提升及改良场所设施的需要。于是一系列的装修工程于2006年展开。

2007 - 如今

迈向未来

2007年,我们的会众人数增长至约3,000人。而在2013年,我们借着一系列的庆典活动欢庆渡过我们的50周年 – 其中有教会开放日、教会联合营、敬拜聚会以及感恩晚宴。随着我们的成长与扩张,我们也开展新会堂-“锡安堂”的建设工程,终于在2019年完工。

Our Heritage

Building on our History

“...and on this rock I will build my church…”
Matthew 16:18

December 1963

Our Founding Elders

Church of Singapore was founded by the late Bro Goh Ewe Kheng, the late Bro Cheng Kai Ho, and the late Bro Huang Jen Shen. In 1963, there was a mighty outpouring of the Holy Spirit in Singapore and Malaysia. Many Christians, including our 3 founding elders, were baptised in the Holy Spirit. Church of Singapore was founded in December 1963 to take care of these newly Spirit-filled Christians who were hungry for the Word of God and knowledge of the Holy Spirit.

1963 - 1973

The Pioneer Years

Our first meeting place was under a canvas roof at 8 Siglap Plain. As the number of believers increased, a new meeting place was urgently needed and we started meeting in an old bungalow at Mt Sophia that was due for demolition. At this time, the number of English-speaking members increased and the service language was changed to English and Mandarin.

In 1965, a church member learnt that the rooftop of a pre-war control building was available for rental. After successful negotiations, we moved into 145 Marine Parade Road.

1974 - 1984

Establishing the Church

As the church grew, there was a pressing need for more space. In 1977, the chief tenant offered us the chief tenancy of 145 Marine Parade Road on the condition that we continued to operate a school under the name “Tung Ling”. With that, “Tung Ling Bible School” was established in 1978.

We also branched out into Church of Singapore (Balestier) in 1979, Church of Singapore (Bukit Timah) in 1981 and Church of Singapore (Woodlands) in 1987. Apart from branching out, we also sent our first missionaries for church planting work in 1977.

1985 - 1995

Transiting to our
Permanent Location

By the late 1980s, the church membership has grown to approximately 1,000. Our leaders started engaging the owners of 145 Marine Parade Road to purchase the property. In 1987, the owner finally agreed to sell the freehold property to us. Praise the Lord!

In 1989, the old building was demolished and construction of the new building began. During this time, our services were held in Odeon Katong Theatre and 41 Koon Seng Road. The new building was finally completed in 1992.

To better serve our community, we joined hands with three other churches and para-church organisations to found St Luke’s Hospital in 1991. Tung Ling Student Care Centre was also set up in 1995.

1996 - 2006

Growing and Expanding

A new branch, Church of Singapore (Harvest) was set up in 1996. We also made further forays into community work by establishing Tung Ling ElderCare Centre (which eventually became Tung Ling Community Services) in 2000.

After occupying 145 Marine Parade Road for over 20 years, we saw the need for a series of upgrading works to improve and upgrade our facilities. This commenced in 2006.

2007 - Present

Moving into the Future

By 2007, our congregation size has grown to over 3,000 members. And in 2013, we celebrated our 50th anniversary with a series of celebratory events - an Open House, a Combined Church Camp, High Praise and a Thanksgiving Celebration Dinner. As we continue to grow and expand, construction works started for the building of a new hall, Zion Hall, and it was completed in 2019.