关于

新加坡教会

认识

我们的故事

新加坡教会自1963年成立为一个独立的灵恩地方教会。我们相信圣灵之浸以及圣灵恩赐之运用。

多年来,上帝极大的赐福予我们。目前我们有超过4,000名会友分别在14堂主日聚会参与崇拜。作为一个家庭教会,我们的会众含括来自各行各业、各年龄、各阶层的人士。

今年

我们的教会主题

WhatsApp Image 2020-01-12 at 11.13.35

今年的主题图像描绘了一双手捧着我们教会的建筑,正准备着把它传递给年轻的那一双手。这象征着从孩童到年长者一起来加强神对新加坡教会的带领,成为一个家庭教会。从第一代会友的领导、塑造和培育开始,下一代正准备承担起他们在教会的支柱角色。

让我们竭力强化我们的家庭教会,一个以爱为根基、与神亲密无间的教会,并且重视人、享受主耶稣我们大牧者及房角石的引导。

教会主题:  “强化我们的家庭教会!”

 

1963年,我们的教会由黄仁山弟兄、郑开濠弟兄及吴有庆弟兄所创立。这些年来,我们已建立了四间各自独立运作的分会 – 新加坡教会马里士他、新加坡教会武吉知马、新加坡教会海军部以及新加坡教会丰收。

刚开始时,我们的主日聚会以华语进行并附福建翻译。当时有大约100名来自不同背景的会友参与 – 工匠、理发师、摄影师、商人、专业人士以及学生。当中约四分之一的人年龄在50岁以上,其余则为年轻人。数年后,随着越来越多受英语教育的人来到我们教会,英语则成了我们主日聚会的语言之一。

如今,我们共有四代人跨越了十四堂聚会一同敬拜,服事对象包括青少年、说英语、华语、方言及外语者。我们还为十二岁以下的婴儿与孩童开办了儿童事工。

强化我们的家庭教会

自教会成立之初,领袖们就一直感受到非常强烈的呼召,要成为一个家庭教会。

三年前,领导层成立了超越55 (B55) 委员会,目的是针对性地研究,祷告以加强我们作为家庭教会的呼召。我们赞美神,能够在2018年以一个大家庭聚集一起同欢庆55周年。

神从不希望人类孤寂或被孤立。相反地,神为群体而创造我们 – 让我们和祂及其他弟兄姐妹共同建立关系。神对教会的心意,是要让失丧的、破碎的、孤独的在教会中找到希望、医治和爱; 一个能被称为 的地方。

每一个地方教会都要成为我们大牧者主耶稣的社群。因此,新加坡教会是我们主耶稣之家,是以爱维系在一起的。这爱的特征并不在于我们的感觉,而是在于我们的行动。

教会是神的家。不同年龄层的家庭成员之间应该有互动,而不是分离。每个人生阶段也会面临不同的机遇、软弱、试探及干扰。因此,我们需要学习用爱心彼此服事。提多书2章也教导我们,无论我们处在人生的哪个阶段 – 年长的成员教导年轻的成员,老年妇人举止行为要恭敬,好指教年轻女性,年轻成员鼓励并激励年长的成员。

年轻人和老年人相处在一起也许会产生一些摩擦,但这是神为我们所设的,好让我们能和睦共处并互相学习。而这一切将带来第十节的结果 “。。。以致凡事尊荣我们救主神的道。”

家人之间的合作关系对于教会的健康与成长来说是至关重要的。弟兄姐妹们,我们恳请您承担起你们那份责任,不要做一个旁观者。领导层鼓励您阅读神的话语并天天祷告求神赐下智慧与能力,好让我们能尽一份力加强我们爱的联系。

愿神得荣耀。

冯道清弟兄
教会长老团主席

01.01.2020

About

Church of Singapore

about

Who We Are

Church of Singapore (COS) was established in 1963 as an independent charismatic local church. We believe in the baptism of the Holy Spirit and the operation of the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

Over the years, God has blessed us greatly. We presently have over 4,000 members worshipping in 15 different weekly Services. As a family church, our congregation is a diverse mix of young people and elderly folk from all walks of life.

This Year

Our Church's Theme

Strengthening our family church-landscape

This year's theme image depicts a pair of hands cradling our church building as it prepares to be passed on to a (younger) pair of hands. It symbolizes Church of Singapore, where the young and the old come together to strengthen our calling to be a family church. Starting from the first generation of church members who led, modelled and nurtured, the next generation leaders are now preparing to take up their roles as the pillars in this church.

Let us seek to strengthen our family church that is defined by love, who knows God intimately, where people matter and where we will enjoy the leadership of our Lord Jesus Christ, the great Shepherd and the cornerstone.

Church Theme – “Strengthening our Family Church!”

Our Conception

In 1963, our family church was founded by Bro. Huang Jen Shen, Bro, Cheng Kai Ho, and Bro. Goh Ewe Kheng. Over the years, we have established 4 branch churches in Singapore that are operating independently today: COS (Balestier), COS (Bukit Timah), COS (Admiralty) and COS (Harvest).

When we started, our Worship Service was conducted in Mandarin with Hokkien interpretation. It was attended by approximately 100 members from a diversity of backgrounds - artisans, barbers, photographers, businessmen, professionals and students. About a quarter of them were above 50 years of age, with the rest comprising of young people. Several years later, as more English-speaking people came into our church, English became one of the languages used in the main Service.

Today, we have 4 generations worshipping together across 14 Services that cater to teens, and adults, in English and Mandarin languages, dialects and foreign languages. We also run Children's Ministry for infants, and children up to the age of 12 years.

Strengthening Our Family Church

From the onset of our church, the leaders have always sensed a very strong call to be a Family Church.

3 years ago, the church leadership formed the Beyond 55 (B55) Committee to purposefully look into and pray for ways to strengthen our call as a Family Church. We praise God that we could one together as one family to celebrate our 55th Anniversary in 2018.

God never intended for mankind to be lonely or isolated. Instead, God has created us for community -  calling us into a relationship with Him and fellow brothers and sisters. God's intention for the church is for her to be a place where the lost, broken and lonely find hope, healing and love; a place where they can call home.

Every local church is to be a community for our Lord Jesus, the Great Shepherd. Church of Singapore, therefore, is a family of our Lord Jesus that is held together by love. This love is not characterised by our feelings, but by our actions.

The late Rev Charles Spurgeon, wrote in one of his messages concerning the church:

“The church is not an institution for perfect people. It is a sanctuary for sinners saved by the grace of God. A nursery for God’s weak children to be nurtured and grow strong. It is the fold for Christ sheep, the home for Christ family. The church is the dearest place on earth.”

How can we, as fellow brothers and sisters, worship in different Services, but still function as one family? We take reference from Apostle Paul’s letter in Titus 2:1-10 where he lays the foundation for the disciples.

Paul addresses first, the leaders in the family. He describes the church as a biblical home with the Father as the leader, the Mother in loving submission, and the Children who honour and obey their parents. Any deviance from this order will result in a dysfunctional family, and likewise, a family without proper leadership at its foundation will break down. In the New Testament, there was always plurality of leaders – these Godly men were referred to interchangeably by the terms Elders and Overseers.

The Church is the family of God. There should be engaging interaction, not separation amongst its family members of varying ages. Each life stage will also bring about different opportunities, weaknesses, temptations and distractions. As such, we need to learn to minister to each other lovingly. Titus 2 has instructions for all of us, no matter what life stage we are at - older members to teach the younger members, older women to be reverent in behaviour and teach the younger women, and the younger members to encourage and energise the older members.

Having both young and old together might create some tension but it is God's design for us to live harmoniously and learn from each other. All this will bring about the result in v10 "... so that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Saviour attractive."

Partnership within the family is vital to the health and the growth of the church. Brothers and Sisters, we urge you to take up your share of the burden and not to be a spectator. The leadership encourages you to read the word of God and to pray daily for wisdom and strength to play our part in strengthening our bonds of love.

May God be glorified.

Brother Foong Daw Ching
Chairman of Elder Board
01.01.2020